Blacktop Rain

…and other secret joys

An America For Every Season

Leave a comment

Americana

I’ve had a short piece of non-fiction published in the latest issue of Synaesthesia Magazine. The magazine, as the name suggests, focuses on the senses, so it was very interesting to write a piece that really focused in on tastes, temperature, and light, and also the way that memories feel. The theme for the issue is americana, so I wrote about my visits to New England during the different seasons.

Here’s a short extract from ‘winter’, you can read the full piece on page 45:

But when I think of America, it is winter that sears the most. It is winter that crackles in the memory, like the icicles that hang from the eaves. It is winter that lives in the forests that I return to in my more nostalgic moments… A winter of breath, caught in the air. A winter of dark. A winter of light… A winter that creaks beneath our boots in the dead of night.

Read the full issue here.

 

Author: Naomi Racz

I am a nature writer, with a particular interest in urban nature. I also write about social media and work in communications with an NGO.

Leave a Reply

