Blacktop Rain

…and other secret joys

Book Spine Poetry

4 Comments

Inspired by Brain Pickings‘s Book Spine Poetry I decided to create my own. Here’s a few of the poems I came up with. I tried to stick to nature writing books and they’re very short poems. I could have kept going but I was in danger of completely dismantling my bookshelves. I apologise for the poor quality of the photos, I had to use my phone’s camera and the light isn’t great either. But I do like the reflection on our glass dinning table.

Book Spine Poem #1

A bit of a nod to Kathleen Jamie with this one.

Book Spine Poem #1

Earth shattering
Findings,
Wild
Sightlines

Book Spine Poem #2

Funny that two of the books with wild in their title are about urban nature.

Book Spine Poem #2

City wilds,
Wild nights,
Wild
Rain

Book Spine Poem #3

I think this one is my favourite.

Book Spine Poem #3

At the water’s edge –
An unexpected light,
On the crofter’s trail –
The rings of Saturn
Flow

Book Spine Poem #4

With this one I tried to find book pairings.

Book Spine Poem #4

The man who invented history:
The madman of freedom square,
A book of memories:
A book of silence,
Utopian dreams:
Arctic dreams

Have a go, its a lot of fun! And comment with a link to your efforts, I’d love to see them.

Author: Naomi Racz

I am a nature writer, with a particular interest in urban nature. I also write about social media and work in communications with an NGO.

4 thoughts on “Book Spine Poetry

  1. I think the 4th one is my favorite. : )

  2. What a cool idea! I will definitely be giving this a go, seems to me like a good thing to try when the writer’s block is about. Great post! πŸ™‚ β™₯

Leave a Reply

